Compensation Commission

The Compensation Commission determines the annual compensation for the five elected officials of the city. There are five members of the commission who must be residents of the city or have a place of business in the city. Terms are staggered (initial appointments for two, four and six years) and begin December 31 of the year in which they are appointed and run for six years or until their successors are appointed and qualified. By Ordinance, the Compensation Commission is required to convene every four years and provide a recommendation to the Mayor and Council by March 31. Any change in compensation would not take effect until after the following election.

The Compensation Commission must meet before January 31 in an election year. At that meeting, the commission must discuss its mission of recommending possible changes to the salaries of the Mayor and Council members. Before making a recommendation and to assist with its deliberations, the commission seeks input from residents to express their opinions on various aspects of compensating the Mayor and Council, including, but not limited to:

  • How the Mayor and Council compensation should be determined.
  • The frequency of Mayor and Council compensation.
  • Who should determine the compensation of the Mayor and Council members.
  • Other matters related in general to the compensation of the Mayor and Council members.

2023 Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, Feb. 8, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Mar. 30, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, Apr. 13, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 10, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Jun. 14, 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.
Compensation Commission
Sara Taylor-Ferrell
Meets when necessary


NameTerm Expiration
Marc WeinshenkerDecember 31, 2027
William SpagnuoloDecember 31, 2027
John BeckerDecember 31, 2027
Paul NewmanDecember 31, 2023
Kavita DawsonDecember 31, 2023