Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a seven-member body charged with formulating a master plan for the City of Rockville and revising the plan when necessary. The commission also:

  • Reviews and makes recommendations to the Mayor and Council on all applications for map and text amendments and project plans
  • Reviews and makes recommendations to the Board of Appeals on all special exception applications
  • Reviews and decides on applications for site plans
  • Reviews and approves all subdivision plans and plats
  • Initiates and conducts planning studies and functions as are necessary in the overall planning operation of the city 

Terms of members are overlapping and run for five years. The body elects its own chair each year.

Under Maryland Law, decisions on quasi-judicial matters must be based on information provided in the public record (written or oral testimony). Therefore no communication should be held outside of the public hearing. The city maintains a list of development applications subject to the limitations on ex parte communications. View the list of current development applications subject to ex parte communications.

Contact the Planning Commission by email at

Meetings are open to the public and televised live on Rockville Channel 11.

Planning Commission Online Meeting and Public Hearing Procedures

Planning Commission
Mayor and Council Chambers
111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
Second and fourth
Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m.

Sign up for Agenda Notifications

Sign up to receive alerts about upcoming meetings and when agendas are available.


NameTerm Expiration
Suzan Pitman, Chair
December 1, 2024
Anne GoodmanJuly 1, 2023
Charles Littlefield
July 1, 2023
John Tyner, II
April 1, 2021
Sam Pearson
January 11, 2025
Andrea Nuñez
February 1, 2026