Rockville Sister Cities Corporation

The City of Rockville formed a formal Sister City relationship with Pinneberg, Germany, in 1957, making it one of the most enduring Sister City relationships in the world. In 1986, the Rockville Sister Cities Corporation was incorporated as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit service organization, with a mission to support local inclusion of Rockville’s diverse cultural communities into Rockville's Sister Cities Program and to facilitate the continuing relationship between the citizens of Rockville and Rockville’s Sister Cities. In 2009, Rockville began informal friendly relations with Jiaxing, China (PRC). In 2019, Rockville and Yilan City, Taiwan, formed a formal Sister City relationship. Correspondence, exchanges, and cultural activities between Rockville and Rockville’s Sister Cities are overseen by the Rockville Sister Cities Corporation.

In accordance with its bylaws, the Mayor and Council of Rockville appoint as many as three directors to the Rockville Sister Cities Corporation Board of Directors. The remaining directors are elected by its membership. Terms are for three years and are staggered. Membership in the corporation is open to all those who embrace the spirit of Rockville’s Sister Cities Program, which includes, mutual understanding, unity through peace and cooperation, as well as the continuation of the Rockville Sister Cities Corporation.

Rockville Sister CitIES Corporation
111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
Third Wednesday at 7:00 p.m.


Term Expiration**
Drew PowellPresidentSeptember 2023
Gilbert SantiagoVice PresidentSeptember 2024
John McKenzie
TreasurerSeptember 2025
Steve FisherSecretarySeptember 2025
Marika Brown*
September 1, 2026
Allison Chang
September 2023
Xi ChenDirectorSeptember 2025
David Hill*DirectorJuly 1, 2025
Kuan Lee
September 2024
Chris MaloneDirector
September 2023
Melissa McKennaDirectorSeptember 2023
Hannelore Quigley
September 2025
David TangDirectorSeptember 2024
Elizabeth von Kaenel*
April 1, 2024
Max WappelDirectorSeptember 2024

*Appointed by Mayor and Council of Rockville.
**For Rockville Mayor and Council appointees, the exact expiration of term is provided.  All other terms expire upon the RSCC Annual Meeting in the year indicated. 


Councilmember Beryl Feinberg
Mayor and Council of Rockville Liaison
Paige Janzen
Rockville Staff Liaison