Permits & Inspections Division

The Inspection Services Division (ISD) enforces state-mandated codes and ordinances through the issuance of permits and contractor licenses, plan review, and the inspection of all phases of residential and commercial construction. ISD is responsible for the following services:

  • Process building and construction permit applications 
  • Review construction plans for code compliance Issues and maintains contractor licenses
  • Perform inspections of buildings and related construction or renovations
  • Perform inspections of fire and life safety systems
  • Provide administration of Chapter 5 (Buildings and Building Regulations)
  • Provide administration of Chapter 9 (Fire Safety Code)
Still have questions? Contact:

Inspection Services
phone.png
240-314-8240
location.png
111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
hours.png
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Please Note: Inspection Services staff continue to provide essential services from home during the closure of Rockville City Hall due to COVID-19 virus restrictions. Refer to the Permits & Inspections webpage or contact staff by email for more information.

Contact Information


NamePhoneEmail
Ricky W. Barker, AICP
Director of Planning and Development Services
240-314-8202rbarker@rockvillemd.gov
Rabbiah "Robbie" Sabbakhan
Chief of Inspection Services
240-314-8242 (o)
240-620-9438 (c)
rsabbakhan@rockvillemd.gov
Robert Purkey
Building Plans Examiner Supervisor
240-314-8261 (o)
240-620-9059 (c)
rpurkey@rockvillemd.gov
Bradley Holmes
Plans Examiner
240-314-8247bholmes@rockvillemd.gov
Martin Dasler
Plans Examiner
240-314-8208
mdasler@rockvillemd.gov
John Bevard
Construction Inspection Supervisor
240-314-8257 (o)
240-620-6767 (c)
jbevard@rockvillemd.gov
Angel Maldonado
Senior Codes Inspector
240-314-8251 (o)
240-620-8870 (c)
amaldonado@rockvillemd.gov
Warner Parks
Senior Codes Inspector
240-314-8248 (o)
240-620-8921 (c)
wparks@rockvillemd.gov
Kathy Lopez
Permit Technician
240-314-8240klopez@rockvillemd.gov
Herman Watkins, III
Permit Technician
240-314-8240hwatkinsiii@rockvillemd.gov
Mary Grace Sabol
Permit Technician / Planning Clerk
240-314-8221
msabol@rockvillemd.gov