Holiday Schedule

During weeks that include a city holiday, your recycling, trash and yard waste collections may occur one day later that week.

On the following days in 2023, City Hall and some facilities are closed, but collections are not affected and will occur as regularly scheduled:

  • New Year's Day (observed on Monday, Jan. 2)
  • Presidents Day
  • Indigenous People's Day
  • Election Day
  • Veterans Day (observed on Friday, Nov. 10)
  • The Friday after Thanksgiving

2023 Holidays

The following is a list of holidays when city government and facilities will be closed, followed by the status of recycling and trash collection:

New Year’s Day (observed)

Monday, Jan. 2
No change to regular collection schedule this week.

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Monday, Jan. 16
All collections occur one day later than usual this week.

Presidents Day

Monday, Feb. 20
No change to regular collection schedule this week.

Memorial Day

Monday, May 29
All collections occur one day later than usual this week.

Juneteenth

Monday, June 19
All collections occur one day later than usual this week.

Independence Day

Tuesday, July 4
Monday collections as scheduled. Tuesday through Thursday collections occur one day later than usual this week.

Labor Day

Monday, Sept. 4
All collections occur one day later than usual this week.

Veterans Day (observed)

Friday, Nov. 10
No change to regular collection schedule this week.

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, Nov. 23
Thursday collections occur on Friday.

Christmas Day

Monday, Dec. 25
All collections occur one day later than usual this week.

Still have questions? Contact: 

Recycling and Refuse
phone.png
240-314-8568
TDD: 240-314-8137
hours.png
Monday - Thursday
7 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Printable 2023 Collection Schedule Calendars
Our calendars include all of your collection days throughout the year based on your regularly scheduled collection day.