Fire Marshal's Office

  1. SERVICE ADVISORY

    Rockville’s fire marshal and the Inspection Services Division will start using a new online oversight program — the Compliance Engine — Saturday, Jan. 15, to monitor testing of commercial fire-protections systems such as fire alarms, sprinklers and smoke controls.

    Accurate and timely inspection reporting, combined with a new capacity for tracking, will reduce false alarms and expedite fire protection system repair, while helping to ensure a greater ability to save lives and protect property in the city.

Summary of Fire Code

Local Fire Code - Chapter 9

The Rockville Fire Marshal's Office was established in 1997 to provide a higher level of service to the citizens and business community within the city limits. The Fire Marshal's Office is responsible for the enforcement of fire codes during construction and throughout occupancy to ensure a safe environment for residents, visitors and firefighters.

Services

  • Fire inspections.
  • Fire code enforcement.
  • Fire safety and educational outreach.

If you believe a building is not inline with fire code, complete the building and fire code complaint form.

Learn about the Compliance Engine online oversight system.

Still have questions? Contact:

Fire Marshal
phone.png
240-314-8240
location.png
111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
hours.png
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

For a second opinion from a supervisor or the director as described in the Customer Bill of Rights.

Contact Information


NamePhoneEmail
Ricky W. Barker, AICP
Director of Planning and Development Services
240-314-8202rbarker@rockvillemd.gov
Rabbiah "Robbie" Sabbakhan
Chief of Inspection Services
240-314-8242rsabbakhan@rockvillemd.gov
Carl Young
Fire Marshal
240-314-8250cyoung@rockvillemd.gov
Shannon Patrick
Fire Protection Engineer
240-314-8246spatrick@rockvillemd.gov
Charles Biggus
Fire Codes Plans Examiner
240-314-8252cbiggus@rockvillemd.gov
Walter Balma
Senior Fire Codes Inspector
301-281-1657
wbalma@rockvillemd.gov
Mary Davis
Fire Codes Inspector
240-314-8263mdavis@rockvillemd.gov